Happy Holidays to all!

Wishing everyone a Merry Christmas and the Happiest of  Holidays!

I always get an itch to bake during the holidays…well, I guess I sort of bake all the time anyway. This morning I woke up and decided to bake an Asian Sponge cake. To pretty it up a bit, I used a rose bundt mold. Removing the cake was a bit of a pain, but I think it turned out beautifully. I don’t think I beat the egg whites enough because the cake wasn’t as fluffy as I expected/wanted, but it was my first attempt. Hopefully next time will be much better.

Naked (without a dusting of powdered sugar) :):

Here is the recipe I used:

Asian Sponge Cake:

  • 1 1/2 cups of cake flour, sifted
  • 9 eggs, separated
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla

Preheat oven to 350º F

1. Beat the egg whites until slightly foamy. Add the cream of tartar and beat until stiff peaks form.

2. Gradually add the sugar to the egg whites and continue to beat until sugar is mixed in.

3. In a separate bowl, beat egg yolks slightly and then add water, oil and vanilla.

4. In another bowl, sift together the cake flour and baking powder. Gradually add the flour mixture to the egg yolk mixture and beat until creamy.

5. Pour egg mixture into the egg whites and gently fold until everything is well blended.

6. Pour the batter into a well-greased baking pan and bake until the top is lightly golden brown. I used a rose bundt pan and it took about 30 minutes.

If using a 9 x 13 inch pan, it should be about 20 minutes.

Enjoy! :)

11 responses to “Happy Holidays to all!

  1. Sometimes you just gotta beat it harder

  2. Very pretty cake! Did you use a silicon mold or a traditional bundt mold?

  3. What makes this an asian sponge cake? Looks really delicious!

  4. is this like the ones they’d use in asian bday fruit cakes?

  5. So let me know when you decide to open your Asian bakery… :)

  6. I just made this for my chinese mom for Christmas. She was so surprised it was the best gift ever!! So hard to please Chinese mom’s.

  7. What a beautiful cake! That looks like a pretty amazing pan.

    I was hoping to come on here to find more Samoa cookie bar pictures and a recipe!!!!!! UPDAAAAAAAATEEEEE! Those cookie bars look AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

