The Spice of Life

IMG_20140719_130754

It’s no secret that I love ice cream. I would probably eat it everyday if I really wanted to, but we all know that’s probably not a good idea.

I’ve owned an ice cream maker for a long time, but never really took full advantage of it. If you’re like me and you live in Texas, you generally just head over to the grocery store, buy a half gallon of Bluebell and call it a day. My friend Melisa recently sent me this recipe that was posted on The New York Times, so I decided to give it a try. I haven’t really come across a recipe that I really LOVED until now.

There are a lot of ice cream recipes out there that are eggless and don’t require any cooking time, but I’ve noticed they end up with very icy results, similar to freezer burn. For me, the ideal ice cream is rich, creamy and flavorful. This recipe yields just that. This simple recipe provides an excellent custard base ice cream, leaving plenty of room for you to get creative with flavors.

For this post, I decided to combine two of my favorite things: ice cream and chai lattes. You will need an ice cream maker for this. I use the Cuisinart ICE-21 and it works great.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of heavy cream
  • 1 cup of half and half (I prefer using the half and half instead of two cups of cream because it gives it a lighter texture)
  • 1 cup of whole milk
  • 2/3 cup of granulated sugar
  • 4 tablespoons of spiced chai latte mix (can be found at your local grocery store, in the coffee aisle)
  • 1/8 teaspoon of salt (a pinch will work just fine)
  • 6 large egg yolks*

Let’s do this:

1. In a small pot, add the milk, cream, sugar, chai mix and salt. Heat the stove to medium and stir the mixture until it dissolves completely.

IMG_20140719_083652
2. Bring the mixture to a simmer and then remove from heat. This should take about four to five minutes.

3. In a separate bowl, gently whisk the egg yolks. Slowly pour in the milk mixture (approximately 1/3 a cup at a time) to temper the eggs. “Tempering” is the process of raising the temperature of the eggs slowly so that the eggs don’t scramble as you add in the hot ingredients.

IMG_20140719_083709
IMG_20140719_084702
4. Pour the entire mixture back into the pot. Heat the stove to low to medium setting and continue whisking. Continue cooking until the mixture thickens and can coat the back of a metal spoon (approximately 170º F when read with a candy thermometer).

IMG_20140719_085001
IMG_20140719_085501
5. Run the mixture through a strainer to remove any clumpy egg remnants and place the mixture in a clean bowl.

IMG_20140719_085652
6. Let the mixture cool to room temperature. After cooling, cover the bowl and place it in the refrigerator to chill for a least four hours.

7. After chilling, run the custard mixture through the strainer one last time to remove any film that has formed during the chilling process.

8. Churn the ice cream in the machine according to the manufacturer’s instructions (approximately 25 minutes).

IMG_20140719_112028

IMG_20140719_113227

9. Your ice cream can now be enjoyed as soft serve, but I recommend storing it in the freezer overnight for best scooping results. Enjoy! :)

IMG_20140719_113717

* If you’re not sure what to do with all your leftover egg whites, consider making French Macarons using my recipe.

4 responses to “The Spice of Life

  1. Pingback: A Piece of Cake | Ev on the Run

  2. Do you use liquid concentrate or powdered chai mix? I can’t tell from the pictures or the recipe and it would affect the consistency.

    I’ve tried 4 or 5 different chai latte mixes/powders… I personally prefer Big Train’s Vanilla powder, but I also like Oregon Chai’s liquid concentrate, so I can work with both options.

    Love the pictures!!!

  3. Hi! Great question. I used a powdered mix. It was my first time creating chai flavored ice cream, so the powdered mix seemed safe. I will definitely have to try your suggestions next time. :)

  4. Thanks for writing back. I can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

