A Crinkle in Time

I’ve been wanting to make chocolate crinkle cookies for quite some time now, but every time I bake cookies, I tend to always revert back to my good ol’ chocolate chip recipe. Today I felt like doing something a little different 🙂

I found came across this recipe while surfing TasteSpotting this afternoon, so I just had to give it a try. Instead of using baking powder, I accidentally used baking soda. Whoops…but thankfully, they still turned out delish!

Check em out:

They aren’t as puffed up as I had hoped they would be, but it was probably due to my fluke.

Here’s the recipe I used (adapted from Urban Spork):

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1  1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 1  1/2 cups packed light-brown sugar
  • 2 extra-large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup whole milk
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar

Directions

  1. Melt chocolate chips in a heatproof bowl in the microwave. I generally heat for 30 seconds at a time and stir each time. Be careful not to burn the chocolate! Set aside, and let cool.  Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl; set aside.
  2. Mix butter and brown sugar on medium speed until pale and fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes.  Mix in eggs and vanilla, and then the melted chocolate.  Reduce speed to low; add flour mixture in 2 batches, alternating with the milk.  Divide dough into 4 equal pieces.  Wrap each in plastic; refrigerate until firm, about 2 hours.
  3. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  4. Divide each piece into 1-inch balls.  Roll in granulated sugar to coat, then in confectioners’ sugar to coat.  Space 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  5. Bake until surfaces crack, about 13 minutes.  Let cool on sheets on wire racks and enjoy!

If you love chocolate, you have to try these!

3 responses to “A Crinkle in Time

  1. I better get me some of them cookies this winter break or else…

  2. These are perfect for the holidays!

  3. I just made these- delicious! Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

